College of Arts and Architecture

School of Architecture

The School of Architecture offers a five and a half year professional program culminating in a Master of Architecture degree.  The Master of Architecture is fully accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). Additionally the Masters of Architecture program meets the educational requirements needed for U.S. licensure with the  National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB). The program has approximately 275 undergraduate students and 60 graduate students.

School of Art

The Master of Fine Arts is a project based, non-media specific curriculum that focuses on individual artistic development and creative leadership. The program brings together talented individuals from a variety of different media building a community that fosters exploration, professionalism and creative success.

The MA in Art History program welcomes inquiries and applications from students who have an academic background in art history or a broad spectrum of the humanities and social sciences.  Candidates should have the motivation to learn to read a foreign language, to employ analytical structures, and to make timely progress through the two-year program.

School of Film and Photography

M.F.A. in Science and Natural History Filmmaking seeks candidates with at least an undergraduate major or minor degree concentration in natural, applied, or social sciences. These fields include but are not limited to biology, physics, chemistry, mathematics, astronomy, engineering, earth sciences, computer and technology science, environmental sciences, psychology, anthropology, archaeology, sociology, health sciences, and other related fields. Some research experience is preferred. Candidates are not expected to have education or experience in filmmaking although applications from filmmakers with science backgrounds or science production experience will be given full consideration.

Dean, College of Arts & Architecture

Dr. Royce Smith
217 Cheever Hall, Bozeman, MT 59717
406-994-4405  Email:

Director-School of Architecture

Andrew Vernooy, Professor

160 Cheever Hall, Bozeman, MT 59717
406-994-4256  Email:

Director-School of Art

Vaughan Judge, Professor
213 Haynes Hall, Bozeman, MT  59717
406-994-4501   Email:

 Director-School of Film & Photography

Theo Lipfert, Professor
226 VCB, Bozeman, MT  59717
406-994-7588  Email: