Certificate of Gerontology

The certificate will provide courses specifically focused on aging to increase the knowledge and understanding of aging issues for individuals wishing to work with older adults and their families. In the field of gerontology, certificate programs are common due to the multi-disciplinary focus of gerontology. The intent of a gerontology certificate is to provide specific knowledge on aging issues to enhance students programs of study in other programs and disciplines.

The online gerontology certificate program is a joint endeavor shared by faculty (community health and human development and family science) in the Department of Health and Human Development at Montana State University. Students will need to complete 2 required courses (6 credits) and 3 elective courses (9 credits), for a total of 15 credits with earned grades of “C” or higher to fulfill certificate requirements.

Required Courses


CHTH 495Practical Experience in Aging3
Choose one of the following:3
Physical Activity, Nutrition and Health in Aging
Adult Development and Aging
Choose three of the following:9
Leadership & Public Policies in Aging
Caregiving & Aging Families
Mental Health & Social Issues in Aging
Principles Wellbeing in Aging
Total Credits:15