Montana State University has been accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU), an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation and the U.S. Department of Education, since 1932. Eligible professional academic and service programs within the University are accredited by the following agencies:

  • Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (for Student Health Service)
  • Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET)
  • Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND)
  • American Psychological Association (for PhD level Internships in Counseling and Psychological Services) (APA)
  • Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)
  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)
  • National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)
  • National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)
  • National Association of Schools of Music (NASM)
  • National Collegiate Athletic Association (for Intercollegiate Athletics) (NCAA)
  • Society for Range Management (SRM)

Transfer Credit Acceptance: 

Montana State University accepts transfer credit from the following institutionally recognized accrediting bodies:

Credits from institutions accredited by other accrediting bodies will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis as directed by the University Provost or their proxy.  Please contact the Office of the Registrar for questions.