College of Letters and Science

Nicol C. Rae, Dean
Bridget Kevane, Associate Dean
David Cherry, Associate Dean

The College of Letters and Science, offering nearly 50 majors and 25 minors for undergraduates, is the largest and most diverse college at MSU. Its fifteen departments, representing the four areas of the humanities, natural sciences, mathematics and social sciences, share a commitment to helping students think critically and solve problems, communicate clearly, understand various disciplines and cultures, and develop the engagement that will make them life-long learners and leaders.

College of Letters and Science faculty members are well-known for their contributions to their fields, and have an impressive record for winning competitive national grants to support research and scholarship. Letters and Science undergraduates benefit from numerous opportunities to work side-by-side with faculty on original research and scholarship, an experience that is elsewhere often available only to graduate students.

The following baccalaureate degrees are offered in the College of Letters and Science:

Non-degree program

In addition to various options within each degree, and minors in most of the areas listed above, the college administers the following minors:

The selection of a minor provides students the opportunity to have a recognized second area of concentration.